Letting Myself Rest as Selfcare

Today is not a typical shoot day for me, but I still wanted to pamper myself a bit, so I indulged in some makeup. Checking out my reflection, I couldn’t help but chuckle at my messy bun. Perhaps I should do something about it, but today is all about rest. So, with my peach iced tea in hand, I’m ready to unwind.

I’ve gathered a stack of movies and DVDs, perfect for a relaxing day indoors. Although my computer is within reach, I’ve decided to steer clear of work-related tasks. Instead, I’m giving myself the freedom to explore activities I enjoy. After all, aside from my regular work, today is all about rest.

As I play around with my selfie stick, I can’t help but acknowledge how my perspective has shifted. What once seemed cumbersome is now proving to be quite useful, especially as a content creator. This newfound appreciation for simplicity extends to my surroundings. While my apartment serves as my workspace, I’m in the process of organizing a dedicated storage room. Having a designated area for my work-related materials will not only enhance efficiency but also provide a sense of separation between work and leisure.

My Australian crystal necklace, a cherished possession, symbolizes healing for me. Its presence serves as a gentle reminder to prioritize self-care. Although I forgot to put it on last night, I quickly rectified the situation. Feeling its weight against my chest, I’m reminded to be kind to myself and embrace moments of tranquility.

Despite my desire to go for a walk, I find myself battling exhaustion. A night plagued by insomnia has left me feeling drained. Recognizing the signs of anxiety, I’m committed to practicing self-care. Today, I refuse to succumb to the pressures of productivity. Instead, I’m allowing myself the luxury of rest, acknowledging that it’s an essential component of my healing journey.

Living with complex PTSD, I’ve come to accept that triggers and challenges are inevitable. However, I’m learning to navigate them with grace and self-compassion. Rather than dwelling on past traumas, I’m focusing on the present moment and nurturing my well-being. It’s a journey marked by resilience and self-discovery, one that I’m navigating at my own pace.

So, as I embark on a day of relaxation, I’m embracing mindfulness and self-reflection. With a cup of sweet tea in hand, I’m savoring the simple pleasures of life and honoring the importance of self-care. Today, I’m choosing rest, knowing that it’s a vital component of my healing.

There is a video blog that goes with this post and and it will be on my Patreon (click here)

Leave a comment