Embracing Solitude: My Journey of Healing

Today, I want to share a deeply personal journey with you—a journey of healing, self-discovery, and learning to embrace solitude as a form of self-care. If you’ve ever felt like an outsider or struggled to find your place in a world that can feel overwhelming, you’re not alone. Join me as I open up about my experiences, my struggles, and the path I’ve chosen to take toward healing.

For much of my life, I believed I was an introvert. I cherished my alone time, and social interactions often drained me. But recently, I had an epiphany—I might not be an introvert by nature; instead, my body was reacting to the world around me with a heightened sense of fear. It was as if my senses were on high alert, constantly scanning for threats in human interactions.

You see, my past experiences have left me with deep emotional wounds. I’ve faced trauma, betrayal, and pain at the hands of people I should have been able to trust. My body’s response to this was to equate all humans with potential harm, even though I intellectually know this isn’t true. My body goes into a state of heightened awareness, where fear takes over, making it challenging to interact with others.

Given these challenges, I’ve made the conscious choice to embrace solitude as a form of self-care and healing. It’s not that I dislike people or want to isolate myself entirely; it’s about creating a safe space where I can work on my healing without the constant fear response triggered by human interactions.

Traditional therapy might work for some, but for me, it’s a complex terrain. I’ve had experiences where therapists didn’t understand or even feared my reactions, which made me feel more isolated. So, I’ve decided to find my own way to heal, drawing from my life experiences and what I’ve learned about myself.

Healing is an ongoing process, and there’s no set timeline or one-size-fits-all solution. I’m learning to prioritize my mental and emotional health above all else. It’s about acknowledging that my healing journey is unique, and that’s okay.

Click play below to have this blog post read to you:

Leave a comment